Picture of Cory Hall
Graduate Students
Recent Presentations

Campus Directions
Campus Map
Directions to Cory and Soda Halls
Schedule of Classes
College of Engineering

Tsu-Jae King Liu

Tsu-Jae King's photo

TSMC Distinguished Professor in Microelectronics
Member, Kavli Energy NanoSciences Institute at Berkeley
EE Division Chair and Department Chair
Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences Department
College of Engineering
Affiliated Faculty, Applied Science & Technology Graduate Program
Affiliated Faculty, Nanoscale Science and Engineering Graduate Group

Contact Information: 
E-mail: tking at eecs dot berkeley dot edu
Phone: (510) 642-0253

Office Hours (231 Cory Hall):
Mondays 4-5 PM

Mailing Address:
University of California at Berkeley
EECS Department, 253 Cory Hall #1770
Berkeley, CA 94720-1770

Meg Pressley
Phone: (510) 642-0253
E-mail: megpressley at eecs dot berkeley dot edu

Grant Administrator:
Lydia Yoon 
E-mail: lyd at berkeley dot edu


Research Areas:

  • Nanometer-scale semiconductor devices and technology
  • Novel non-volatile memory devices and technology
  • M/NEMS technology for ultra-low-power integrated circuits

Research Groups and Laboratories:

Research Centers and Programs:


  • B.S. Electrical Engineering, Stanford University (1984)
  • M.S. Electrical Engineering, Stanford University (1986)
  • Ph.D. Electrical Engineering, Stanford University (1994)

Awards and Honors

  • Ross M. Tucker AIME Electronics Materials Award (1992)
  • NSF CAREER Award (1998)
  • DARPA Significant Technical Achievement Award (2000)
  • Semiconductor Research Corporation Inventor Recognition Award (2000, 2003, 2005)
  • Outstanding Teaching Award, EE Division, EECS Department (2003)
  • MARCO/FCRP Inventor Recognition Award (2006, 2007)
  • National Academy of Engineering Lillian M. Gilbreth Lectureship (2006)
  • IEEE Fellow (2007)
  • IEEE Kiyo Tomiyasu Award (2010)
  • UC Berkeley Distinguished Faculty Mentoring Award (2010)
  • The Electrochemical Society Thomas D. Callinan Award (2011)
  • Intel Outstanding Researcher in Nanotechnology Award (2012)
  • SIA University Researcher Award (2014)

Post-Doctoral Researchers and Visiting Scholars

  • Dr. Kimihiko Kato
  • Dr. Sang Wan Kim
  • Dr. Alexis Peschot
  • Prof. Woo Young Choi (Sogang University)
  • Dr. Daniel Connelly

    Graduate Students

    • Yenhao Chen
    • Benjamin Osoba
    • Chuang Qian
    • Urmita Sikder
    • Xi Zhang
    • Peng Zheng
    Last updated January 19, 2015