Announcements feed

Prof. Rikky Muller has been named a winner of the 2016 MedTech Boston 40 Under 40 Healthcare Innovators from Boston and beyond. Their list includes physicians, entrepreneurs, policy makers, students and more—but the key is that they’re all committed to changing our healthcare system for the better. More>>
May 2

The AMP (Algorithms, Machines and People) Lab was featured in the NEA Venture Capital Firm’s blog by Peter Sonsini titled, “Veriflow: The next great startup with Cal connections”. Veriflow is the 3rd and latest EECS UC Berkeley startup to join the NEA portfolio. The successes surrounding Cal’s computer science program stem from the uniqueness of its “lab” model—the open and collaborative project-based approach that focuses on specific objectives over a specific period of time.
April 26

Microsoft Research brought together top-notch computer science PhD student researchers who are about to embark on their careers with researchers and engineers who have proven research and technology impact for the 2-day Student Summit on Mobility, Systems, and Networking. During the summit, students presented their work to an ideal audience—their academic peers and a small group of Corporate Vice President-nominated engineers and researchers from Microsoft’s worldwide labs. 2 out of the 4 students recognized in the “Best Of” competition are EECS student Mathias Valentin for Best Poster and Colin Scott received Honorable Mention.
April 22

EECS graduate students Zack Phillips and Michael Chen, who work with Prof. Laura Waller in the Computational Imaging Lab, have been selected to receive a 2016 Qualcomm Innovation Fellowship. They will receive $100k over one year to build a novel new computational illumination microscope attachment for cheap and easy biological microscopy in a portable device.
April 22

The paper written by Prof. David Culler and former students Joseph Polastre and Jason Hill titled “Versatile low power media access for wireless sensor networks", Proceedings of the 2nd international Conference on Embedded Networked Sensor Systems has been selected as a winner of the inaugural SIGMOBILE Test of Time award 2016. The Berkeley MAC (B-MAC) was a pioneering contribution to media access control in TinyOS-based wireless sensor networks. B-MAC and its underlying low-power listening principle became a facto standard in sensor networks. It plays a lasting role in the development of new low power wireless technologies such as IoTs.
April 22

Prof. Scott Shenker has been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. The strength of the Academy lies in the intellectual leadership of its members and the wide range of expertise they bring to its studies and publications. The Academy membership encompasses over 4,600 Fellows and 600 Foreign Honorary Members and reflects the full range of disciplines and professions: mathematics, the physical and biological sciences, medicine, the social sciences and humanities, business, government, public affairs, and the arts. Among the Academy's Fellows are more than 250 Nobel laureates and 60 Pulitzer Prize winners.
UC Berkeley News article More>>
April 22

The paper titled "Crowdie: Feedback-Directed Instrumentation for Deployed JavaScript Applications", authored by Magnus Madsen (U. of Waterloo), Frank Tip (Samsung), Esben Andreasen (Aarhus U.), Prof. Koushik Sen (EECS) and Anders Moller (Aarhus U.) has been chosen to receive an ACM SIGSOFT (Association for Computing Machinery Special Interest Group on Software Engineering) Distinguished Paper Award. Less than 10% of the accepted papers and less than 2% of the total submissions have been chosen to receive this highly prestigious award.
April 15

The paper "SMT-Based Observer Design for Cyber Physical Systems Under Sensor Attacks," co-authored by EECS postdoctoral researchers Yasser Shoukry and Pierluigi Nuzzo with professors Alberto Sangiovanni-Vincentelli and Sanjit A. Seshia, in collaboration with researchers from UCLA and UCSB, supported by the TerraSwarm and ExCAPE projects, received the Best Paper Award at the ACM/IEEE International Conference on Cyber-Physical Systems, ICCPS 2016.
April 15

The Mu Chapter of UC Berkeley has been selected to receive the 2014-15 IEEE-HKN Outstanding Chapter Award. This award is presented to IEEE-HKN chapters in recognition of excellence in their chapter administration and programs. Recipients are selected on the basis of improving professional development; raising instructional and institutional standards; encouraging scholarship and creativity; providing a public service, and generally further the established goals of IEEE-HKN.
April 15

11 EECS graduate students have been awarded National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowships (NSF GRFP). In EE they are Sidney Douglas Buchbinder, Regina Eckert, Laura Hallock, Sang Min Han, Michael Kellman, Efthymios Papageorgiou and Margaret Payne. In CS they are Abhishek Gupta, Grant Ho, Ethan Jackson and Gregory Kahn. The NSF GRFP program recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students in NSF-supported science, technology, engineering, and mathematics disciplines who are pursuing research-based master’s and doctoral degrees at accredited US institutions. Fellows benefit from a three-year annual stipend of $34,000 along with a $12,000 cost of education allowance for tuition and fees.
April 11

EECS News & Archives
Calendar Highlights

David A. Patterson CS Education and Research Endowment Fund. A special giving opportunity to honor the retirement of Prof. Dave Patterson.

EECS Student Awards Ceremony
1:00pm-3:30pm,Friday, May 6, 2016
Wozniak Lounge, Soda Hall

Monday, May 2

Energy-Efficient Hardware for Embedded Vision and Deep Convolutional Neural Works
Dr. Viviene Sze, Assistant Professor, MIT
2-3:30 p.m., Suite 200 BWRC

Dissertation Talk -- Feature Design for Robust Speech Recognition: Nurture and Nature
Shuo-Yiin Chang
3-4 p.m., Ste. 600 Lecture Hall, 6th floor, International Computer Science Institute

Dissertation Talk: Taming Evasions in Machine Learning Based Detection Pipelines
Alex Kantchelian, UC Berkeley
3-4 p.m., 606 Soda Hall

Wednesday, May 4

Dissertation talk: Speeding Up Distributed Storage and Computing Systems Using Codes
Kangwook Lee, UC Berkeley
11 a.m.-12 p.m., 380 Soda Hall

Dissertation Talk: Algorithms for Parsing with Graph Structured Output and Identifying Syntactic Errors
Jonathan Kummerfeld, UC Berkeley
3-4 p.m., 380 Soda Hall

Apple, the FBI, and Compelled Government Access to Consumer Devices and Data
John Villasenor, Electrical Engineering, UC Los Angeles
4-5 p.m., 306 Soda Hall (HP Auditorium) Soda Hall

Dissertation talk: Data-Driven Cyber-Physical System Design via Compositional Learning and Optimization
Ilge Akkaya, UC Berkeley
4-5 p.m., 380 Soda Hall

Thursday, May 5

Jacobs Spring Design Showcase
Jacobs Hall

Dissertation Talk: Optical Antenna Enhanced Spontaneous Emission in Semiconductors
Kevin Messer, EECS
11 a.m.-12 p.m., 521 Cory Hall

Friday, May 6

Dissertation Talk: Deconstruct, Imagine, Build - Bringing Advanced Manufacturing to the Maker Community
Joanne C. Lo, EECS
11 a.m.-12 p.m., 405 Soda Hall

EECS Student Awards
1-3:30 p.m., 430-438 Soda Hall

Dissertation talk : Data-efficient de novo genome assembly algorithm : theory and practice
Ka-kit Lam
3-4 p.m., Soda 310 Soda Hall