EECS News Spring 2015

feed icon

Trevor Darrell is in an interview titled “ Deep Learning” on the BBC World Service’s The Forum. Prof. Darrell research focuses on computer vision and advances in the use of Deep Learning algorithms in robots and drones. He and his team develop algorithms for large-scale perceptual learning, including object and activity recognition and detection, for a variety of applications including multimodal interaction with robots and mobile devices.
March 4

Avideh Zakhor’s research on 3-D modeling through infra-red imaging was featured in Voice of America titled, “ New Tool Maps Buildings' Energy Efficiency”. Voice of America is the official external broadcast institution of the U.S. federal government. While participating at the ARPA-E Energy Innovation summit Prof. Zakhor was visited by journalist George Putic, science and technology reporter for Voice of America.
March 2

Professors Emeriti Andrew Neureuther and William Oldham were honored with a Special Award for Career-Long Contributions to the Art and Science of Lithography at the 40th anniversary of the SPIE Advanced Lithography Symposium. Particular attention was paid to papers published by the two in 1979 and 1980 introducing the SAMPLE process simulator, calling the work "a defining moment, when lithography moved from art to become science." More>>
February 25

Ana Arias and Laura Waller have been selected for the 2014-15 Bakar Fellows Program. This program supports innovative research by early career faculty at UC Berkeley that holds commercial promise and is designed to build a strong network that assists researchers in introducing their discoveries to the market. Prof. Arias’ research focuses on customizing hardware for Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI). Prof. Waller’s project focuses on developing new methods of quantitative phase imaging, for applications in biological microscopy and semiconductor lithography.
February 18

Several women affiliated with UC Berkeley are named in the list of “ 54 women who rocked the tech world”. Included on the list are Professors Ruzena Bajcsy and Susan Graham, Valerie Taylor (Ph.D. in EECS), Shafrira Goldwasser (M.S. and Ph.D. in CS), Deborah Estrin (B.S., UCB) and Barbara Liskov (B.A. in Math from UCB) and are widely recognized for their contributions to the field of computing.
February 18

It is with profound regret that we mark the passing of Professor Gaetano Borriello, a distinguished alumnus of the UC Berkeley EECS Department, died of colon cancer on February 1, 2015. Prof. Borriello was Randy Katz’ first Ph.D. student, graduating in 1988 and immediately becoming a faculty member at the University of Washington, where he was the Jerre D. Noe Chair of CSE. His career began in the areas of integrated circuits for networking, automatic synthesis of digital circuits, reconfigurable hardware, and embedded systems development tools. In 2001, he took a two year leave from UW to found Intel Research Laboratory in Seattle. As Director of Intel Research Seattle, he set in motion projects in elder care (sensor-rich homes and wearable devices)and in location-aware computing using Wi-Fi to enhance indoor location sensing, now used by Apple, Google, Microsoft, and others. More recently, he was directing his efforts toward applying mobile technologies to the problems of public health and development in low-resource settings. His group's open-source mobile data collection tools, Open Data Kit, are in use on six continents in programs ranging across public health, documentation of human rights violations, and environmental monitoring. The University of Washington has established an endowed fellowship for students whose work is focused on exploring how technology can improve the lives of underserved populations: the Gaetano Borriello Endowed Fellowship for Change.
February 13

Ali Javey has been selected as one of two recipients of the Materials Research Society (MRS) Outstanding Young Investigator Award. This award recognizes exceptional, interdisciplinary scientific work in the field of materials science by a young scientist or engineer who also shows excellent promise as a developing leader in the materials research community. Prof. Javey was chosen from a large group of extraordinary nominees “for innovative contributions in integrating nanomaterials into device applications.”
February 13

Alberto Sangiovanni-Vincentelli traveled to University College Cork in Ireland to help UCC celebrate its own special anniversary, the bicentenary of George Boole (1815-64) first professor of mathematics at UCC and forefather of the information age. Prof. Sangiovanni-Vincentelli gave the George Boole 200 Inaugural Lectures with Prof. Muffy Calder from the University of Glasgow, Scotland. More>>
February 13

Benjamin Recht has been named the 2015 recipient of the National Academy of Sciences William O. Baker Award in the field of statistics and machine learning. This award is given to "recognize innovative young scientists and to encourage research likely to lead toward new capabilities for human benefit." Prof. Recht is receiving this award for his significant contributions to the field of data science, an area of research that combines statistics (the analysis of large amounts of numerical data), computer science, and mathematics. More>>
January 30

EECS alumnus Jyuo-Min Shyu, Ph.D. ’88 (advisor Prof. Alberto Sangiovanni-Vincentelli) has been appointed the Minister of Science and Technology in Taiwan. Dr. Shyu was formerly president of the Industrial Technology Research Institute (ITRI) in Taiwan. More>>
January 30

Newspage Archives

Spring 2014
Fall 2013
Spring 2013
Fall 2012
Spring 2012
Fall 2011
Spring 2011
Fall 2010
Spring 2010
Fall 2009
Spring 2009
Fall 2008
Spring 2008
Fall 2007
Spring 2007
Fall 2006
Spring 2006
Fall 2005
Spring 2005
Fall 2004
Spring 2004
Fall 2003
Spring 2003
Fall 2002
Spring 2002
Fall 2001

Submit news to: