Announcements feed icon

New Website: Take Our Survey!

Dr. Sheila Humphreys (EECS Director Emerita of Diversity) has been named recipient of the Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring (PAESMEM). This award recognizes outstanding efforts of mentors in encouraging the next generation of innovators and developing a science and engineering workforce that reflects the diverse talent of America. Sheila is being recognized for her work which "improved the recruitment, retention and success of underrepresented groups in UC Berkeley's Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences" and will receive her award at a White House ceremony later this year. One of Sheila's former mentees, EECS alumnus Gary May (now Dean of the College of Engineering at GeorgiaTech) also has been named among the individuals who are receiving this award, for increasing the participation of minorities in science and engineering. More>>
March 31

EECS Professor Emeritus Michael Stonebraker has been named recipient of the 2014 ACM A. M. Turing Award. The ACM Turing Award is widely considered the “Nobel Prize of Computing” and is named for Alan M. Turing, the British mathematician who articulated the mathematical foundation and limits of computing. Prof. Stonebraker is receiving this honor for fundamental contributions to the concepts and practices underlying modern database systems. Currently an adjunct professor at MIT, Prof. Stonebraker taught for 29 years in EECS where he and a team of researchers developed INGRES, an open-source SQL relational database management system intended to support large commercial and government applications. Ingres spawned a number of commercial database applications, including Sybase, Microsoft SQL Server, NonStop SQL and a number of others. More>>
March 25

EECS graduate student Chelsea Finn (faculty advisors Pieter Abbeel and Trevor Darrell) has been chosen to receive the IEEE-HKN Outstanding Student Award. This award recognizes outstanding scholastic excellence and high moral character, coupled with demonstrated exemplary service to classmates, university, community and country. Chelsea was nominated by faculty at MIT where she completed her undergraduate work. Chelsea’s research interests are in computer vision and reinforcement learning for robotics, essentially helping robots learn to see and operate in the real world.
March 23

The work of Michel Maharbiz’ research group in conjuction with Nanyang Technological University in Singapore is featured in a UC Berkeley News Center article titled “ Cyborg beetle research allows free-flight study of insects”. By strapping tiny computers and wireless radios onto the backs of giant flower beetles and recording neuromuscular data as the bugs flew untethered, scientists determined that a muscle known for controlling the folding of wings was also critical to steering. The researchers then used that information to improve the precision of the beetles’ remote-controlled turns.
March 16

Two EECS alumni have been chosen to receive distinguished alumni awards by the Cal Alumni Association (CAA). Steve Wozniak, (B.S. EE, ‘86) has been named 2015 Alumnus of the Year. He helped shape the computing industry with the design of Apple’s first line of products, co-founding Apple Computer Inc. with Steve Jobs. In 1987, Wozniak founded a new venture, CL 9, which developed and brought to market the first programmable universal remote control, and in 2001, he started Wheels of Zeus (WoZ) to create wireless GPS technology. A Builder of Berkeley, Wozniak has contributed in excess of $1 million to the University over the past 25 years, making a significant investment in technology and innovation at UC Berkeley. Yoky Matsuoka, (B.S. EECS ‘93) has been honored for Excellence in Achievement. After receiving her Ph.D. from MIT in EECS, she became a professor at Carnegie Mellon and later the University of Washington. In 2009 she joined Google [x] as one of 3 founding members, then accepted a position at Nest as V.P. of technology. Currently Yoky is V.P. of Technology and Analytics at Twitter. More>>
March 16

The research work of Connie Chang-Hasnain was featured in an article in the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) online journal titled “ New film changes colors when you stretch it”. Technology researchers often look to nature for solutions to challenges they face. Studying the way chameleons change the color of their skin, Prof. Chang-Hasnain’s research group has developed an ultra-thin film that changes color when pulled or twisted. Future applications could include a new class of energy-efficient full-color displays or enabling the films to work as sensors, revealing structural changes in bridges, buildings and even the wings of an aircraft where shifting colors could signal dangerous wear and tear.
UC Berkeley New Center article
March 13

Undergraduate EECS student Sahaana Suri was named a finalist for this year's Computing Research Association (CRA) Outstanding Undergraduate Researcher Award. This award recognizes undergraduate students in North American universities who show outstanding research potential in an area of computing research. Sahaana was selected for her contributions to Professor Anant Sahai's research into understanding how to make a wireless protocol for ultra-reliable communication at very low latencies in the service of high-performance Internet Of Things.
March 10

Computer science undergrad student Alexander Francis has been selected for the KPCB (Kleiner, Perkins, Caufield and Byers) Fellows Program. The KPCB Fellows Program is the top engineering program for young people interested in technology and entrepreneurship in Silicon Valley. This program pairs top engineering students from across the country with leading edge startups in Silicon Valley and their work experience is additionally supplemented with events and programming led by CEOs and executives from KPCB portfolio companies and KPCB Partners. More>>
March 4

EECS News & Archives
Calendar Highlights

Wednesday, April 1

Matrix Computations and Scientific Computing Seminar
Nick Knight, UC Berkeley
11 a.m.-12 p.m., 380 Soda Hall

The University in Crisis
Laura Nader, Department of Anthropology; Paul Rabinow, Department of Anthropology; Brian Barsky, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences; James Vernon, Department of History
2-4 p.m., 159 Mulford Hall

Netskope Info Session
6-7 p.m., Wozniak Lounge/430/438 Soda Hall

Thursday, April 2

Programming Languages Seminar: Bloom and CALM: Disorderly Distributed Computing and Minimal Coordination
Joseph Hellerstein, UC Berkeley
12-1 p.m., Wozniak Lounge/430/438 Soda Hall

Swarm-Terraswarm Seminar
Luc Julia, Samsung
12:30-1:30 p.m., 490H Cory Hall

TRUST Security Seminar
Philippa Gill, Stony Brook University, SUNY
1-2 p.m., 250 Sutardja Dai Hall

CEO of Keysight Technologies Tech Talk
2-4 p.m., Banatao Auditorium Sutardja Dai Hall

Aspera Tech Talk
5:30-6:30 p.m., Wozniak Lounge/430/438 Soda Hall

Friday, April 3

Solid State Technology and Devices Seminar
Felix R. Fischer, Ph.D, Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry, Berkeley
1-2 p.m., 521 Cory Hall - The Hogan Room Cory Hall

Hot Electron-mediated Chemical and Solar Energy Conversion on Metal-Oxide Nanostructures
Prof. Jeong Young Park (박정영), Korea Advanced Institute of Science & Technology (KAIST), EEWS
2-3 p.m., 390 Hearst Memorial Mining Building

Dissertation Talk: Optofluidic Devices for Droplet and Cell Manipulation
Shao Ning Pei
3-4 p.m., 540AB DOP Center Cory Hall

Monday, April 6

All you need is love (of data): Bootstrapping sensorimotor representations for agents embodied in unknown robots
Andrea Censi, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1-2 p.m., Wozniak Lounge (430) Soda Hall