EECS Industrial Advisory Board

The EECS Industrial Advisory Board (IAB) is established to help the department fulfill its mission of educating leaders, creating knowledge, and serving society, by

  • strengthening the ties between EECS and its constituents in industry, academia, and government;
  • the pursuit of new broad research agendas (e.g. through the creation of research centers and strategies for faculty recruitment);
  • fostering entrepreneurship by facilitating connections between Berkeley researchers, venture capitalists, and other industry visionaries;
  • the establishment of sustainable funding models to provide resources competitive with our peer institutions;
  • the establishment of targeted fellowships, endowed chairs, and other forms of support to help attract the very best students and faculty; and
  • development of educational initiatives, including possibly globalization, on-line learning, executive education, professional degrees, and industrial course modules.
For more information please contact:

Jenny Jones
Development Coordinator
eXternal Relations Group (XRG)
231 Cory Hall
(510) 643-0855

Current Board Members

Ahmad Bahai
CTO, Analog Business
Texas Instruments

Ivo Bolsens
Xilinx, Inc.

Ed Catmull
President and Cofounder
Pixar Animation Studios, Inc.

Wenchi Chen
President and CEO
VIA Technologies

Laura Haas
IBM Fellow and Director, Computer Science
Almaden Research Center

Greg Heinzinger
Senior Vice President
Technology Licensing
Qualcomm Incorporated

Dave Hemker
SVP, Chief Technology Officer
Lam Research Corp.

Tony Hey
Corporate Vice President
External Research
Microsoft Corporation

Isabel Mahe
Vice President of Wireless Technology

Jiri Marek
Research & Technology Ctr.
Robert Bosch Corp.

Teresa H. Meng
Reid Weaver Dennis Professor of Electrical Engineering, and Professor of Computer Science, Emerita
Department of Electrical Engineering Stanford

Steve Newton
VP and Director
Measurement Research Lab
Agilent Technologies, Inc.

Peter Norvig
Director of Research
Google, Inc.

Mike Olson
Chief Strategy Officer

Greg Papadopoulos
Venture Partner
New Enterprise Associates, Inc.

Chandrakant Patel
Senior Fellow and Chief Engineer
HP Labs

Valluri "Bob" Rao
Intel Fellow
Technology and Manufacturing Group
Intel Corporation

Klaus Schauser
Chief Strategist and Founder

Pantas Sutardja
(Former) VP and CTO
Marvell Technology Group

James Truchard
President and CEO
National Instruments Corporation

Ben Tsai
Executive Vice President, Chief Technology Officer and Corporate Alliances
KLA Tencor

Chenyang Xu
General Manager
Siemens TTB


We appreciate the dedicated service of these former Industrial Advisory Board members.

Kirstie Bellman
Principal Director
Aerospace Integration Sciences Center (AISC)
The Aerospace Corporation

Terry Benzel
Vice President
Advanced Security Research
Network Associates
Director NAI Labs

John Best
Chief Technologist
Hitachi Global Storage Technologies

John Seely Brown
Former Chief Scientist
Xerox Corporation

Dennis Buss
Vice President of Mixed-Signal Technology
Texas Instruments

Josephine M. Cheng
Vice President
IBM Almaden Research Center

John Couch
Vice President, Education
Apple Computer

Phil Edholm
Chief Technology Officer and Vice President
Network Architecture
Nortel Networks

Jerry Fiddler
Advisory Board Member
Wind River Systems

Francesco Gori
CEO and Managing Director
Pirelli International

Satoshi Goto
Vice President
NEC Corporation

Roger Gray

Paula Hawthorn

Dave Hemker
VP, New Product Development
Lam Research Corporation

Stefan Heuser
President & CEO
Siemens TTB

Mark Horowitz
Professor, Electrical Engineering

Ta-lin Hsu
Founder and Chairman
H&Q Asia Pacific

Robert (Bob) Iannucci
(formerly CTO & Head of Nokia Research)

Laura Ipsen
Senior Vice President & General Manager
Smart Grid

Paul E. Jacobs
Wireless and Internet Group

Clas A. Jacobson
Director, Systems Department
United Technologies Research Center

David Liddle
General Partner
U.S. Venture Partners

Dan Ling
Vice President, Microsoft Research
Microsoft Corporation

Robert Lucky
Corporate Vice President
Applied Research
Telcordia Technologies

Tsugio Makimoto
Executive Advisor
Sony Semiconductor

William Mark
Vice President
Information Computing Sciences Division SRI International

Robert Morris
Vice President, Personal Systems Storage
Director, Almaden Research Center

Richard Murray
Information Science & Technology

Mark Pinto
Executive Vice President, General Manager Energy and Environmental Solutions
Applied Materials

Dan Pitt
Dean, School of Engineering
Santa Clara University

Arati Prabhakar
US Venture Partners

Dariush Rafinejad
Retired Corporate VP and GM
Applied Materials

Prabhakar Raghavan
Head of Yahoo! Research
Yahoo!, Inc.

Fabio Romeo
President and GM
Electronics Division Milan
Pirelli Tyre

Patrick Scaglia
VP and CTO Cloud Services and Applications
Hewlett-Packard Company

Eric Schmidt
Chairman of the Board
Google, Inc.

Mel A. Slater
Chief Executive Officer
National ICT Australia

Jim Smith
General Partner
Mohr Davidow Ventures

William J. Spencer
Chairman Emeritus
Int'l SEMATECH Corporation

James Spoto
CEO and President
Applied Wave Research

Tony Stelliga
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer

Roger Strauch
Roda Group

Alan Taub
Vice President Global R&D
General Motors Corporation

David Tennenhouse
(an Company)

Ted Vucurevich
Slightly Sharp Enterprises

Albert Yu
Senior Vice President
General Manager
Microprocessor Product Group
Intel Corporation

Robert Yung
Former Chief Technology Officer
Enterprise Processor Architecture
Intel Corporation


2011 Annual Industrial Advisory Board Meeting, January 18, 2011

2009 EECS Advisory Board Dinner, September 3, 2009, San Francisco

2008 EECS Advisory Board Meeting, December 5, 2008

2008 EECS Advisory Board Meeting, June 10, 2008

2005 Annual Industrial Advisory Board Meeting, March 16, 2005

Fall 2004 Industrial Advisory Board Dinner, November 1, 2004, San Francisco

2004 Annual Industrial Advisory Board Meeting, March 17, 2004

Fall 2003
Industrial Advisory Board Dinner, November 13, 2003, San Francisco

Annual Industrial Advisory Board Meeting, March 19, 2003