When a staff member leaves the department, there are a number of computer-related matters to be cleaned up. This procedure is intended as a guide to be followed by the departing staff member and his or her supervisor. (For the purposes of this document, student workers are also staff.)
Limits: This procedure is designed for staff members supported by the EECS Administrative Computing Group (ACG). If you work in a different group or department, this information may or may not apply to you.
While a staff member is employed at the University, e-mail messages and mailboxes are protected by the University Electronic Communications Policy and can not be turned over to anyone, including a supervisor, without the explicit consent (which we require in writing) of the owner. However, this policy suggests that this protection no longer applies in the event of an emergency after someone has left University employment.
Employees need to be aware that all files, including mail, on University-owned computers will be disposed of after they leave their position. Because of this, we strongly urge departing employees to review all files and mailboxes before leaving and remove all work and non-work-related material that they would like to keep.
Employees transferring to other jobs on campus will keep their bConnected accounts with everything in them (bMail, bDrive, etc.)
ACG policy is to close computer accounts at the time that a staff member leaves. Before they leave, supervisors should confirm that the departing staff member has reviewed their files and moved anything that should be kept to a shared drive. The departing staff member can work with ACG to get needed files moved out of the user's home directory in advance of their departure. It is much easier to copy needed files before someone leaves; it might not even be possible after they're gone. Files in Google Drive will be removed when the owner leaves campus. Staff who own Google Drive files needed for departmental operations or records should transfer ownership of those files to another departmental staff member before leaving. The same is true for Box.com files and folders.
EECS employees and supervisors should know the IRIS account policies (especially the paragraph about user privacy) and backup/recovery policy. We use IRIS services for home directories and login accounts, so we operate within the constraints of their policies. Specifically, if a supervisor needs access to a staff member's files after they leave, the supervisor needs to have a signed paper consent letter from the staff member.
If IDSG is notified of the employee's departure by the 15th of the month, the account will close at the end of that month. If IDSG is notified after the 15th, the account will close at the end of the following month. When an employee's account is closed, the files in their home directory (the H: drive) will be removed.
Transferring MS Office, Acrobat, and Text Documents
Departing staff should organize
work-related computer files and place them in the appropriate folder(s)
so they can be accessed after the staff member has left.
Any files left on your H:(coeus) drive will disappear when your account is closed.
Transferring Google Files
Staff have a 90 day grace period before their bConnected files (Google drive, bCal, etc.) are removed.
You should transfer any files that you have created on bDrive into a bConnected Special Purpose Account (SPA). If you created a file it will be deleted when your bConnected account is closed even if you are sharing it with others and have given them full permissions on it. (SPAs in the department include: spa-academic-personnel-eecs, spa-gradaffairs-eecs, spa-gradadmissions-eecs, spa-mas-ic, spa-ugrad-eecs, spa-xrg-events-eecs). If you need a new SPA created, contact ACG.
Transfer Ownership of your File to an SPA
- Go to Drive or a Docs, Sheets, or Slides home screen.
Open the sharing box:
- In Drive: Select the file or folder and click the "share" icon (person with a plus sign) at the top .
- In a Docs, Sheets, or Slides home screen: Open the file and click "Share" in the top-right corner of the file
Type the email address of the SPA in the "Invite people" field
(this will be the SPA name with the "spa-" removed from the beginning and @berkeley.edu added at the end. E.g.
- Click "Send"
- Open Sharing again
- Click "Advanced" in the bottom-right corner of the sharing box.
- Click the drop-down menu next to the SPA name.
- Select "Is owner"
- Click "Save changes" then "Yes" then "Done."
Log into the SPA and organize the files:
Right-click on the Chrome icon and select "New Incognito Window"
OR on Firefox:
Right-click on the Firefox icon and select "New private window"
Put a PLUS sign in front of your CalNet login:
and use your regular passphrase
- In the "Choose one of your accounts" window, click the down arrow and select your SPA. (If the SPA does not appear, contact ACG so they can give you access.)
- Click "Log in as"
Transferring Personal Files
Departing staff can copy any personal files onto a usb key/cd/zip disk. If you have any questions about how to copy personal files, or handle computer accounts and files when someone leaves a job, please feel free to contact ACG.
Any mail forwarding must be set up by the staff member, not the supervisor, before the staff member leaves. Likewise, any vacation message must be set up by the staff member before leaving; ACG cannot set up vacation messages on staff accounts.
If you will be transferring to another job on campus your bMail account, and all the mail in it, will remain untouched. To removed your @eecs account from your bMail profile, click on the gear icon and select Settings. Click the Accounts tab and then click "delete" next to your @eecs and @cs accounts.
NOTE: bConnected accounts are available to retired UC Berkeley staff. See the Cal Retirement Center Network Email Options.
To set up mail forwarding, log into bMail:
- Open the cog icon menu and select "Settings"
- Click the "Forwarding and POP/IMAP" tab
- Click the "Add a forwarding address" button and enter the email address to which you'd like to forward your mail
- Click "Proceed" to have a confirmation email sent to your forwarding address. Leave your bMail web page open.
- Open another browser window (or an icongnito window if you're forwarding your mail to another gmail account) and open mail on the account to which you are forwarding your messages. Find the confirmation message and click on the verification link.
- Go back to your bMail account window (Settings/Forwarding) and refresh the page
- Select the "Forward a copy of incoming mail to" option and make sure your new forwarding address is listed in the first drop-down menu.
- In the second drop-down menu, choose the option to forward your messages without saving a copy in bMail.
- Click "Save Changes" at the bottom of the page.
If you elect to keep copies of your incoming messages on the bMail server: after the official exit, log into bMail about once a week to delete all messages. bMail has a quota so it is important to make sure that the quota is not maxed out or your forwarding will be stopped. bMail will forward mail for approximately 3 months after employment end date.
Send an email from your @eecs email address to email@example.com with the word
which in the body of the message. You should receive a reply listing all of the mail lists you are on or moderate/own. Please forward this list to acg@eecs so they can remove you from these lists (we don't have access to create this list—only a user can create it for themself).
Vacation (Departure Notification) Message
Upon the official exit, set up a vacation message via the bMail web interface. It will be sent as an auto-reply to all incoming emails. The message should contain information to the effect that you no longer work in that position, and it should include the contact information of someone who can help. An EECS vacation message on the bMail server will remain active for up to 6 months after the user departs.
Transferring Email Files and Folders
If the employee would like to transfer mail files to their group, see: Leaving and Retrieving Email on a Shared Drive. If your group uses a departmental or SPA account, you can also copy the mail to that account with Thunderbird for group access. If you need to transfer your mail to another personal account, configure both your bMail and personal mail accounts on Thunderbird and drag messages from one to the other.
(reorganized by MLC may-2012)
Sep 23, 2015 08:38