Women in EECS at UC Berkeley
MILESTONES 1896-2004

1876 Elizabeth Bragg graduates from Berkeley as a Civil Engineer the first woman graduate
1894 Julia Morgan graduates from the College of Mechanics
1900-1940 In 40 years, only 2 women earn engineering degrees
1940-50 With the onset of World War II, thirteen women receive engineering degrees from Berkeley
1950-60 Fourteen women graduate with engineering degrees from Berkeley
1969 Kawthar Zaki earns the first doctorate in Electrical Engineering, now Professor of Electrical Engineering at the University of Maryland
1971 Susan Graham appointed Asst. Professor of Computer Science (which was in L&S)
1976 Susan Graham promoted to Assoc. Professor of Computer Science with tenure
1977 WICSE is founded by graduate students in Computer Science, including Paula Hawthorn, Diane McEntyre, Barbara Simons, Mary Ann Niemat, Susan Eggers, Deborah Estrin
1978 "Working in Engineering and Computer Science: A Conference for Women" attracts 800 women and launches a Berkeley women's program in engineering
1980 "Options in Engineering: A Conference for Women Students" sponsored by WICSE, College of Engineering, and Women's Center
1982 "Options in Engineering and Science: A Conference for Women Students" sponsored by WICSE, SWE, College of Engineering
1983 Computer Science Reentry Program established at Berkeley in the Computer Science Division
1985 Professor Mildred Dresselhaus, Dr. Ruth Davis appointed Regents' Professors in EECS
1986 Dr. Jeanne Ferrante, IBM Watson Research Center, appointed NSF Visiting Professor in CS
1987 Professor Mary Lou Soffa, University of Pittsburgh, NSF Visiting Professor in CS
1987 WICSE Tenth Anniversary Conference and Celebration: The First Decade: The Next Decade," Professor Mildred Dresselhaus, MIT, Keynote Speaker
1988 Professor Avideh Zakhor appointed in EE
1991 WICSE "Forum on Women in Academia"
1992 Professor Katherine Yelick appointed in CS
1992 Association of Undergraduate Women in Computer Science and Electrical Engineering (AUWICSEE) founded in EECS by women undergraduates; office space allocated in Cory Hall
1994 CS Reentry Program celebrates first decade
1993 "Women in Engineering Conference at Berkeley" sponsored by WICSE, Intel Foundation, EECS Department, College of Engineering, and attracts 300 participants
1994 EECS Faculty pass the Parent Policy allowing graduate student parents to modify their academic program
1994 Berkeley EECS sends 12 women to Grace Murray Hopper Celebration of Women in Computing, Washington, D.C.
1995 Dr. Ljiljana Trajkovic and Dr. Anita Flynn appointed as Visiting Faculty in Electrical Engineering; Women's Display Case in Cory Hall remodeled
1996 Professors Constance Chang-Hasnain and Tsu-Jae King appointed to EE
1996 CS Re-entry Program phased out because of Proposition 209
1997 WICSE 20th Anniversary, November 14, 1997
1998-2000 Dr. Barbara Simons (Ph.D. '81) President, Association of Computing Machinery
1999 Six EECS women grads attend CRA-W Career Mentoring Workshop, Atlanta, GA
1999 Dr. Janice Hudgings, EE, wins Optical Society Prize, named Professor at Mount Holyoke
1999 Women in Science and Engineering (WiSE) Residence Hall opens its doors to undergraduate women
2000 Berkeley sends 15 women to Grace Murray Hopper Celebration of Women in Computing, Cape Cod, MA
2000-01 Distinguished Women speak at EECS  Colloquium:
   Professor Deborah Estrin, UCLA
   Professor Francine Berman, UCSD
   Professor Susan Eggers, University of Washington
   Professor Mary Gray Baker, Stanford University
   Professor Barbara Liskov, MIT
   Professor Valerie Taylor, Northwestern University
2001 Jennifer Mankoff appointed Asst. Professor of Computer Science
2002 EECS Student Diversity Programs win WEPAN Women in Engineering Program Award (WIEP) 
2002 Professor Maria Klawe speaks to WICSE as Regent's Professor
2002 Professor Barbara Grosz visits EECS as McKay Professor of CS
2002 Grace Hopper Conference: 23 EECS Students attend; grads present a Panel Discussion of women's issues, Vancouver, Canada
2002 Professor Valerie Taylor wins COE Outstanding Young Leader Award , UC Berkeley
2003 Dawn Tilbury wins COE Outstanding Young Leader Award , UC Berkeley
2003 Professor Belle Wei named Dean of Engineering at San Jose State University
2003 Wicse 25th Anniversary Celebration, UC Berkeley
2013 EE Ph.D. grad and current dean of faculty and professor of physics at Mt. Holyoke College, Janice Hudgings named VP of Academic Affairs at Pomona College

Compiled by: Sheila Humphreys, Academic Coordinator for Student Matters, 2004