main photo of Constance Chang-Hasnain

Constance Chang-Hasnain


Research Areas

  • Microsystems and materials
  • Nano-Optoelectronic devices

Research Centers


Prof. Chang-Hasnain's CV

Connie Chang-Hasnain is Associate Dean for Strategic Alliances, College of Engineering, and John R. Whinnery Distinguished Chair Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences. She is also Chair of Nanoscale Science and Engineering Graduate Group, University of California, Berkeley. She received her Ph.D. from the same university in 1987. Prior to joining the Berkeley faculty, Dr. Chang-Hasnain was a member of the technical staff at Bellcore (1987–1992), and Assistant and Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering at Stanford University (1992–1996). She is an Honorary Member of A.F. Ioffe Institute, Chang Jiang Scholar Endowed Chair Professor at Tsinghua University, Visiting Professor of Peking University and National Chiao Tung University.

Professor Chang-Hasnain’s research interests range from semiconductor optoelectronic devices to materials and physics, with current foci on nano-photonic materials and devices for chip-scale integrated optics. She has been honored with the Quantum Device Award (2014), IEEE David Sarnoff Award (2011), the OSA Nick Holonyak Jr. Award (2007), the IEEE LEOS William Streifer Award for Scientific Achievement (2003), and the Microoptics Award from Japan Society of Applied Physics (2009). Additionally, she has been awarded with a National Security Science and Engineering Faculty Fellowship by the Department of Defense (2008), a Humboldt Research Award (2009), and a Guggenheim Fellowship (2009).

She is a member of the US Advisory Committee to the International Commission on Optics, National Academy of Sciences and Skolkovo Foundation Scientific Advisory Council. She served on the National Research Council Committee on “Optics and Photonics: Essential Technologies for Our Nation”; US Air Force Scientific Advisory Board; Board on Assessment of NIST Programs, National Research Council; IEEE LEOS Board of Governors, and OSA Board of Directors. She was the Editor-in-Chief Journal of Lightwave Technology 2007-2012 and is Associate Editor of the OSA Optica, since 2013.

Selected Publications