Other Faculty Awards

American Automatic Control Council (AACC)
Richard E. Bellman Control Heritage Award
Lotfi Zadeh,2 1998
Pravin Varaiya,2 2008
AACC Donald P. Eckman Award
S. Shankar Sastry, 1990
Kameshwar Poolla, 1994
Claire Tomlin, 2003
Murat Arcak, 2006
AACC John R. Ragazzini Education Award
Charles Desoer,1 1983
S. Shankar Sastry, 2005
American Way Magazine's Ten People to Watch
Kristofer Pister, 2006
American Physical Society (APS)
Will Allis Prize for the Study of Ionized Gases
Michael Lieberman,2 2006
American Society for Civil Engineers (ASCE)
Walter L. Huber Civil Engineering Research Prize
Alexandre Bayen, 2014
Anita Borg Institute for Women and Technology
Technical Leadership Award
Ruzena Bajcsy, 2009
Argonne National Laboratory (Mathematics & Computer Science Division),
the National Physical Laboratory, and the Numerical Algorithms Group
J. H. Wilkinson Prize for Numerical Software
Jonathan Shewchuk, 2003
Asian American Engineer of the Year Lifetime Achievement Award
Chenming Hu,2 2011
Computer History Museum (Fellow)
David Patterson, 2007
Computer Measurement Group (CMG)
A. A. Michelson Award
Domenico Ferrari,2 1987
David and Lucile Packard Foundation
Fellowships for Science & Engineering
John Canny, 1988
Connie Chang-Hasnain, 1992
Ming Wu, 1992
Yun S. Song, 2008
Laura Waller, 2014
Electronics Design Automation Consortium (EDAC)
Kaufman Award
Donald O. Pederson,1 1995
Ernest S. Kuh,1 1998
Alberto Sangiovanni-Vincentelli, 2001
Ronald A. Rohrer,3 2002
Richard Newton,1 2003
Robert K. Brayton,2 2007
European Design and Automation Association (EDAA)
Lifetime Achievement Award
Robert K. Brayton,2 2006
Ernest S. Kuh,1 2008
Jan Rabaey, 2009
Alberto Sangiovanni-Vincentelli, 2012
Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation
Moore Investigators in Data Driven Discovery
Laura Waller, 2014
John Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellows
John Whinnery,1 1958
George L. Turin,1 1966
Lotfi Zadeh,2 1967
Richard M. White,2, 1968
Eugene Wong,2 1968
Pravin Varaiya,2 1971
William Oldham,2 1985
Bin Yu, 2006
Alexei Effros, 2008
Connie Chang-Hasnain, 2009
Leon Chua,2 2010
Dawn Song, 2010
Harvard Medal
Susan Graham,2 2008
Institute of Mathematical Statistics Fellows
Peter Bartlett
Michael Jordan
Bin Yu
International Association for Fuzzy-Set Management & Economy (SIGEF)
Kaufmann Prize
Lotfi Zadeh,2 2004
International Society of Automation (ISA)
Albert F. Sperry Founder Award
Kristofer Pister, 2009
International Speech Communication Association (ISCA)
Nelson Morgan,2 2010
International Symposium on Compound Semiconductors (ISCS)
Quantum Device Award
Connie Chang-Hasnain, 2014
International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP)
Von Engel Prize
Michael Lieberman,2 2005
Katayanagi Prize for Research Excellence
David Patterson, 2007
Christos Papadimitriou, 2008
MIT Technology Review

TR35 Young Innovators
Ali Javey, 2009
Dawn Song, 2009
Pieter Abbeel, 2011

TR 10 Emerging Technologies
David Culler, 2003
Michel Maharbiz, 2009
Joseph Hellerstein, 2010

TR 100 Innovators Under 35
Eric Brewer, 1999
Joe Hellerstein, 1999
Vivek Subramanian, 2002
Claire Tomlin, 2003
James O'Brien, 2004

Nano Letters
Young Investigators Lectureship Award
Ali Javey, 2014
National Academy Institute of Medicine (IOM) Members
Thomas Budinger,2 1990
Ruzena Bajcsy, 1995
National Security Science and Engineering Faculty Fellows
Connie Chang-Hasnain, 2008
Optical Society of America (OSA) Optical Society of America (OSA) Frederic Ives Medal/Quinn Prize
Ivan Kaminow,1 2011
Optical Society of America (OSA) Paul F. Forman Engineering Excellence Award
Ming C. Wu, 2007
Optical Society of America (OSA) Nick Holonyak, Jr. Award
Connie Chang-Hasnain, 2007
Kam Lau,2 2008
Optical Society of America (OSA) Adolf Lomb Medal
Eli Yablonovitch, 1978
Optical Society of America (OSA) Charles H. Townes Award
Ivan Kaminow,1 1995
Connie Chang-Hasnain
Ivan Kaminow1
Eli Yablonovitch
Polish Academy of Sciences (PAN)
Nicolaus Copernicus Medal
Lotfi Zadeh,2 2005
Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists & Engineers (PECASE)
Thomas Anderson3
Alexandre Bayen
Constance Chang-Hasnain
David Culler
Ken Goldberg
John Kubiatowicz
Ravi Ramamoorthi
Benjamin Recht
Koushik Sen
Sanjit Seshia
Ion Stoica
Rank Prize in Optoelectronics
Eli Yablonovitch, 2014
David E. Rumelhart Prize For Contributions to the Theoretical Foundations of Human Cognition
Michael Jordan, 2015
Semiconductor Industry Association (SIA) University Research Award
Donald Pederson,1 1995
Paul R. Gray,2 2000
William Oldham,2 2003
Andy Neureuther,2 2007
David Allstot, 2008
Jan Rabaey, 2010
Chenming Hu,2 2011
Tsu-Jae King Liu, 2014
Semiconductor Research Corporation (SRC) Aristotle Award
Alberto Sangiovanni-Vincentelli, 2002
Chenming Hu,2 2009
Andy Neureuther,2 2012
Semiconductor Research Corporation (SRC) Technical Excellence Award
William Oldham,2 Richard Schenker,and Fan Piao,1997
Robert Brayton2 and Alan Mischenko, 2011
Chang Lin Tien Educational Leadership Award
S. Shankar Sastry, 2010
UNESCO Medal for the Development of Nanosciences and Nanotechnologies
Constance Chang-Hasnain, 2015
Upsilon Pi Epsilon (UPE)
Abacus Award
David Patterson, 2006
Alexander von Humboldt Foundation and the Max Planck Society
Max Planck Research Award
Eugene Myers,3 2004
Connie Chang-Hasnain 2009

3 No Longer at UC Berkeley.

Return to EECS Faculty Awards