Announcements feed icon

Martin Wainwright has been awarded the COPSS (Committee of Presidents of Statistical Societies) Presidents’ Award, at the Joint Statistical Meetings earlier this month. This award is considered to be the Nobel Prize of Statistics, a most prestigious award for young researchers in Statistics. More>>
August 28

Dan Garcia was interviewed for an article in the Center for Digital Education online publication titled “ California Shores up Support for Computer Science Education”. Lawmakers and educators are taking steps to make computer science now count toward high school graduation requirements for math and science.
August 28

Jitendra Malik has been awarded the King-Sun Fu Prize from IAPR (International Association for Pattern Recognition) to be presented at annual conference in Stockholm. This award is given in recognition of an outstanding technical contribution to the field of pattern recognition. Prof. Malik is being honored for contributions to fundamental algorithms and their theoretical underpinnings in computer vision.
August 22

The paper authored by EECS grad students Ruoxi Jia, Ming Jin and Prof. Costas Spanos was featured in a MIT Technology Review article titled “ An Indoor Positioning System Based On Echolocation”. Satellite-based global positioning systems have revolutionized the way humans interact with our planet but a serious weakness is that GPS doesn’t work indoors. Based on a form of sound system called echolocation, Ruoxi, Ming and Prof. Spanos have developed a simple and inexpensive mechanism that can accurately identify different rooms based on a relatively small dataset gathered in advance.
August 20

EECS alumnus Kuang Chen (Ph.D. ’11, advisor Profs. Joseph Hellerstein and Tapin Parikh) has been named in MIT Technology Review’s 2014 Innovators Under 35 list. Kuang’s research focuses on data management systems and developed the technology to capture paper-bound data in countries that had yet to fully harness the power of computing. He founded a company called Captricity that uses a combination of computing and brainpower to read information on paper forms dozens of times faster and more cost-effectively. More>>
August 20

EECS alumnus Kurtis Heimerl (Ph.D. ’13, advisor Prof. Eric Brewer) has been named in MIT Technology Review’s 2014 Innovators Under 35 list. Kurtis, who is now a post-doc in the TIER lab focused on how to provide cellular communications to some of the estimated 1 billion people worldwide who live outside the range of cellular carriers. Kurtis developed “The Village Base Station” using an open-source technology to implement a GSM (Global System for Mobile Communications) base station for providing off the grid cellular coverage that can be used for communities and villages outside the range of cellular carriers.
Blum Center for Developing Economies article
August 20

" Quantifying Eventual Consistency with PBS", a paper written by EECS Grad Students Peter Bailis and Shivaram Venkataraman, with their advisors Michael Franklin, Joseph Hellerstein and Ion Stoica, has been published as a "Research Highlight" selection in this month's Communications of the ACM. Since 2007 the CACM has published selected papers appearing in ACM conferences that represent significant advances in the field. These papers are chosen by an ACM Committee and are typically expanded to appeal to the broader CACM readership. The resulting article is preceded by a "Technical Perspective" written by an expert in the field, in this case, Philip Bernstein, a Distinguished Scientist at Microsoft Research.
August 18

The research of Alexei Efros was featured in a UC Newscenter article titled “ New tool makes a single picture worth a thousand – and more – images”. Prof. Efros, who is a member of the Visual Computing Lab, and his research team have developed a new software that seeks to tame the vast amount of visual data in the world by generating a single photo that can represent massive clusters of images. This research was presented at the 2014 SIGGRAPH Conference in Vancouver, Canada.
August 18

Prof. Emeritus Arthur Bergen passed away on Saturday July 19 in Oakland, after a brief bout with kidney disease, at the age of 91. Prof. Bergen joined the EECS faculty in 1958, bringing distinction to our department in the area of power systems. He was awarded the Berkeley Citation in 1991 for service to the University well above and beyond the call of duty, including 10 years as Associate Dean in the College of Engineering. His family has requested that in lieu of flowers, donations be made to the East Bay Regional Park Trail Maintenance Fund. Checks can be made out to: EBRPD-Ivan Dickson Volunteer Trail Maintenance Program Fund, 2950 Peralta Oaks Court, Oakland, CA 94605. A memorial will be held on Sunday, September 21 at 2:00 PM in the Heyns Room, Faculty Club, UC Berkeley. More>>
July 29

EECS News & Archives
Calendar Highlights

Wednesday, September 17

Engineering Near-field Interactions with Body for Powering Bioelectronic Medicines
Ada Poon, Professor, Stanford University Integrated Biomedical Systems
4-5 p.m., 306 Soda Hall (HP Auditorium) Soda Hall

Transfer Workshop: Resume Tips
4-5 p.m., 240 Bechtel Engineering Center

EECS Masters Programs Information Session
4:30-5:30 p.m., 405 Soda Hall

Microsoft Info Session
5:30-7:30 p.m., Wozniak Lounge/430/438 Soda Hall

Thursday, September 18

Activities on Autonomous Driving at VisLab
Alberto Broggi, Professor, Università di Parma, Italy
11 a.m.-12 p.m., 3110 Etcheverry Hall

Programming Languages Seminar: The Rise of the Expert Amateur: DIY Culture and the Evolution of Computer Science 
Eric Paulos, UC Berkeley
12:30-1:30 p.m., Wozniak Lounge/430/438 Soda Hall

TRUST Security Seminar
Whitney Phillips, Humboldt State University
1-2 p.m., 250 Sutardja Dai Hall

Salesforce Info Session
6:30-7:30 p.m., Wozniak Lounge/430/438 Soda Hall

Friday, September 19

A Hybrid Dynamical Systems Theory for Legged Locomotion
Sam Burden, Berkeley EECS
9-10 a.m., 337B Cory Hall

TALK: Frank Uhlig on Fri, Sept 19th at 2pm in 380 Soda
Frank Uhlig, Auburn University
2-3 p.m., 380 Soda Hall

Pivotal Labs Info Session
5:30-7:30 p.m., Hogan Room/521 Cory Hall

Monday, September 22

On adaptation in shape constrained estimation
Aditya Guntuboyina, Department of Statistics, UC Berkeley
3-4 p.m., 521 Cory Hall